



Civic Center, 1315 Valley Drive, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3885

January 24, 2018

The Honorable Al Muratsuchi California State Assembly, District 66 State Capitol, Room 2179 P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249 The Honorable Hannah-Beth Jackson California State Senate, District 19 State Capitol, Room 2032 Sacramento, CA 95814 The Honorable Ricardo Lara California State Senate, District 33 State Capitol, Room 5050 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Assembly Bill No. 1775 and Senate Bill No. 834

Dear Assemblymember Muratsuchi, Senator Jackson and Senator Lara:

On behalf of the City Council and residents of the City of Hermosa Beach, we want to thank you for your leadership on this very important matter. On January 23, 2018, Hermosa Beach City Council voted to approve and support your recently introduced Assembly and Senate Bills opposing the Federal Department of the Interior's proposed offshore oil and gas resource program.

The City of Hermosa Beach, as a member of the League of California Cities, is officially in support of Assembly Bill No. 1775 as well as Senate Bill No. 834. These companion Bills would prohibit the State Lands Commission and local trustees from entering into lease agreements for exploration or production of oil or natural gas in state regulated coastal waters, up to three miles from the coastline.

In March 2015, eighty (80) percent of Hermosa Beach Residents voted against Measure O, permanently eliminating E&B's drilling and mineral rights in the City of Hermosa Beach. Supporting Assembly Bill No. 1775 and Senate Bill No. 834 is consistent with this directive as well as the City's 2021 Strategic Plan Goal of a More Livable, Sustainable Beach City.

Again, the City of Hermosa Beach appreciates your efforts and affirms its support of Assembly Bill No. 1775 and Senate Bill No. 834. Please contact City Manager Sergio Gonzalez for any additional information at sgonzalez@hermosabch.org or 310-318-0216.

Sincerely,

Jeff Duclos, Mayor City of Hermosa Beach

cc: The Honorable Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom, President of the Senate The Honorable Senator Kevin de León, Senate President Pro Tempore The Honorable Assemblymember Anthony Rendon, Speaker of the Assembly